Eloise Gynn

Inspired by world music, poetry and the natural world, Eloise Nancie Gynn’s music has been described as “ethereal, glowering” (Terry Blain, BBC Music Magazine), “quite intoxicating” (Classical reviewer), and “ luxuriantly slow moving, soft edged and ruminative” (Ivan Hewitt, Telegraph). She completed her Masters in Composition with distinction in 2008 at Cardiff University, winning a scholarship for High Performance, the School’s Neville John String Prize and the A. B. Dally Prize for Composition. She studied with Arlene Sierra, Anthony Powers, and Judith Weir.
Eloise has had works performed by the London Symphony Orchestra, London Sinfonietta, Hebrides Ensemble, Schubert Ensemble, Dr. K Sextet and the Britten-Pears Composers Ensemble, and at festivals such as Aldeburgh, St. Magnus, and in 2013, the Bath and Cheltenham Festivals. Through the LSO’s Panufnik Scheme, her commission Anahata (2013) was premiered at the Barbican, conducted by Nicholas Collon, and her earlier piece Sakura (2010) has been recorded and released on LSO Live ‘The Panufnik Legacies’, conducted by Francois-Xavier Roth.
More recently she wrote Only Breath for the choir MusArc through Sound and Music’s Portfolio Scheme, played cello and shakuhachi in the ‘Sounds of Peace’ festival in Armenia, and participated in Phoenix Dance Theatre’s Choreographers and Composers Lab 2015 where she created Yoyuu for bass clarinet, cello, piano and three dancers, choreographed by Adrienne Hart. She is currently working on a privately commissioned viola concerto and collaborating with Nurture Creative Dance Theatre in Cardiff.




Sylvia Lim
Laura Moody
Philip Venables
Ayanna Witter-Johnson
Raymond Yiu
Eleanor Alberga
Jacob Fitzgerald
Anna Disley-Simpson
Ruari Paterson-Achenbach
Tom Coult
Lisa Illean
Matthew Grouse
Errollyn Wallen
Oliver Leith
Benjamin Graves
Robin Haigh
Kevin Leomo
Joseph Davies
Элина Вагина
Svetlana Lavrova
Elena Igotti
Mira Calix
Alex Mills
Darren Bloom
Dominic Wills
Alexia Sloane
Anna Appleby
Jia Chai
Andrew Thomas
Emily Hall
Joel Rust
Timothy Salter
Eloise Gynn
Deborah Pritchard
Andy Ingamells
William Marsey
Elis Czerniak
Soosan Lolavar
Kate Whitley
Stevie Wishart
Ewan Campbell
Jethro Cooke
Edwin Hillier
James Joslin
Timothy Cape
Edward Henderson
Stephen Williams
Gareth Wood
Sasha Millwood
Graham Ross
Jeremy Thurlow
James Brady
Kate Honey
Aleksandr Brusentsev
Kim Ashton
Misha Mullov-Abbado
Freya Waley-Cohen
Josephine Stephenson
Ed Scolding
Giles Swayne
Lloyd Coleman
Jonathan Woolgar
William Cole