Raymond Yiu

Raymond Yiu (姚恩豪, b.1973) is a Hong-Kong born, London-based composer, jazz pianist, conductor and writer on music. He is the winner of a BASCA British Composer Award in 2010 (Northwest Wind), and nominated for the same award in 2004 (Beyond the Glass), 2012 (Les Etoiles au Front) and 2013 (The London Citizen Exceedingly Injured) respectively. Originally trained as an engineer, Yiu was self-taught as a composer until he undertook his DMus under the auspice of Julian Anderson at Guildhall School of Music and Drama in 2009.

His early work received the advocacy of the American composer-pianist-conductor Lukas Foss. He has worked with ensembles and artists including BBC Singers, BBCSO, Chroma, Concorde Ensemble, Ensemble 10/10, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, London Sinfonietta, Lontano and LSO.

The Original Chinese Conjuror, with a libretto by Lee Warren, was commissioned for the 2006 Aldeburgh Almeida Opera; it received its Austrian premiere at the Musikverein in April 2013, presented by Teatro Barroco of Vienna. Maomao Yü, a quintet for piano and traditional Chinese instruments was commissioned by London Symphony Orchestra for Lang Lang and the Silk String Quartet. It was premiered under the baton of the composer in April 2009.

His ‘hugely impressive’ (The Guardian) Symphony was commissioned by the BBC, and premiered by countertenor Andrew Watts, BBC Symphony Orchestra and Edward Gardner during the BBC Proms 2015.

2017 sees the premiere of his flute concerto Butorflēoge with Ben Pateman and Tallis Chamber Orchestra in March, the Asian premiere of The London Citizen Exceedingly Injured with Hong Kong Philharmonic in April, and The World Was Once All Miracle – commissioned to commemorate the centenary of Anthony Burgess – for Roderick Williams and BBC Philharmonic in July as part of the Manchester International Festival 2017.

The World Was Once All Miracle will receive its London premiere in April 2018 at the Barbican Hall, with Roderick Williams, BBC Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Sir Andrew Davis.



Sylvia Lim
Laura Moody
Philip Venables
Ayanna Witter-Johnson
Raymond Yiu
Eleanor Alberga
Jacob Fitzgerald
Anna Disley-Simpson
Ruari Paterson-Achenbach
Tom Coult
Lisa Illean
Matthew Grouse
Errollyn Wallen
Oliver Leith
Benjamin Graves
Robin Haigh
Kevin Leomo
Joseph Davies
Элина Вагина
Svetlana Lavrova
Elena Igotti
Mira Calix
Alex Mills
Darren Bloom
Dominic Wills
Alexia Sloane
Anna Appleby
Jia Chai
Andrew Thomas
Emily Hall
Joel Rust
Timothy Salter
Eloise Gynn
Deborah Pritchard
Andy Ingamells
William Marsey
Elis Czerniak
Soosan Lolavar
Kate Whitley
Stevie Wishart
Ewan Campbell
Jethro Cooke
Edwin Hillier
James Joslin
Timothy Cape
Edward Henderson
Stephen Williams
Gareth Wood
Sasha Millwood
Graham Ross
Jeremy Thurlow
James Brady
Kate Honey
Aleksandr Brusentsev
Kim Ashton
Misha Mullov-Abbado
Freya Waley-Cohen
Josephine Stephenson
Ed Scolding
Giles Swayne
Lloyd Coleman
Jonathan Woolgar
William Cole