Stephen Williams

Stephen studied undergraduate and postgraduate degrees at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, where he was generously supported by Help Musicians UK, Denne Gilkes Memorial Fund and Guildhall Scholarship Award. During his time at the Guildhall School, Stephen studied clarinet with Joy Farrall, Andrew Marriner, Nicholas Carpenter and Andrew Webster, and composition with James Weeks and Paul Newland. He is currently a Fellow at the Guildhall School for 2015/16.

As an orchestral player, Stephen has played with a variety of ensembles including the Britten Sinfonia, City of London Chamber Orchestra, Haffner Wind Ensemble, and as the clarinet academy member for the 2015 Chipping Campden Festival Academy Orchestra. Stephen also played in the 2015 UK premiere of Šimon Voseček’s Biedermann and the Arsonist with Independent Opera at Sadler’s Wells in London. During his time at the Guildhall School and as a previous member of the Young Musicians Symphony Orchestra, Stephen played under conductors including Sir Simon Rattle, Bernard Haitink, John Wilson, Michael Tilson Thomas and Gianandrea Noseda. As a concerto soloist he has performed music by Debussy, Mozart and Weber.

Stephen has always had a keen interest in contemporary music and his compositions have been performed by a variety of groups, most recently by professors at the Guildhall School, Guildhall’s Ubu Ensemble, The Hermes Experiment and also in a workshop performance by the acclaimed contemporary vocal ensemble EXAUDI.


Sylvia Lim
Laura Moody
Philip Venables
Ayanna Witter-Johnson
Raymond Yiu
Eleanor Alberga
Jacob Fitzgerald
Anna Disley-Simpson
Ruari Paterson-Achenbach
Tom Coult
Lisa Illean
Matthew Grouse
Errollyn Wallen
Oliver Leith
Benjamin Graves
Robin Haigh
Kevin Leomo
Joseph Davies
Элина Вагина
Svetlana Lavrova
Elena Igotti
Mira Calix
Alex Mills
Darren Bloom
Dominic Wills
Alexia Sloane
Anna Appleby
Jia Chai
Andrew Thomas
Emily Hall
Joel Rust
Timothy Salter
Eloise Gynn
Deborah Pritchard
Andy Ingamells
William Marsey
Elis Czerniak
Soosan Lolavar
Kate Whitley
Stevie Wishart
Ewan Campbell
Jethro Cooke
Edwin Hillier
James Joslin
Timothy Cape
Edward Henderson
Stephen Williams
Gareth Wood
Sasha Millwood
Graham Ross
Jeremy Thurlow
James Brady
Kate Honey
Aleksandr Brusentsev
Kim Ashton
Misha Mullov-Abbado
Freya Waley-Cohen
Josephine Stephenson
Ed Scolding
Giles Swayne
Lloyd Coleman
Jonathan Woolgar
William Cole