Emily Hall

Much of Emily Hall’s music is formed from close creative relationships with singers and writers, finding her own ways of using technology and live performance.

Emily Hall studied composition at York University and the Royal College of Music, London. She has written for many different ensembles and orchestras including the London Sinfonietta, LSO, BBCNOW, the Brodsky Quartet, Opera North, LCO, and Hungarian Radio Choir. Her music is broadcast frequently on BBC Radio 2, 3, 4 and 6Music.

Much to her surprise, Emily has written 4 operas.

Her first opera, “Sante” was described by The Times as “a dynamic new opera worth everyones time and hopes”. Her second was a film opera, “The Nightingale and the Rose” (2010) commissioned by Streetwise Opera. Next “Folie a Deux” (2015) a concept album /opera, written with Icelandic author Sjon for singers Sofia Jernberg and Allan Clayton produced by Mahogany Opera Group. Her latest “Found and Lost” [2016] is a site-specific opera installation commissioned by the Corinthia Hotel, London. Her trilogy of song cycles written with Toby Litt are widely performed.

Emily Hall is a member of Bedroom Community the Icelandic record label.

Emily Hall has won many awards for her music including the Paul Hamlyn Foundation Award for Artists, the genesis Opera Prize and the Royal Philharmonic Society Composition Award.



Sylvia Lim
Laura Moody
Philip Venables
Ayanna Witter-Johnson
Raymond Yiu
Eleanor Alberga
Jacob Fitzgerald
Anna Disley-Simpson
Ruari Paterson-Achenbach
Tom Coult
Lisa Illean
Matthew Grouse
Errollyn Wallen
Oliver Leith
Benjamin Graves
Robin Haigh
Kevin Leomo
Joseph Davies
Элина Вагина
Svetlana Lavrova
Elena Igotti
Mira Calix
Alex Mills
Darren Bloom
Dominic Wills
Alexia Sloane
Anna Appleby
Jia Chai
Andrew Thomas
Emily Hall
Joel Rust
Timothy Salter
Eloise Gynn
Deborah Pritchard
Andy Ingamells
William Marsey
Elis Czerniak
Soosan Lolavar
Kate Whitley
Stevie Wishart
Ewan Campbell
Jethro Cooke
Edwin Hillier
James Joslin
Timothy Cape
Edward Henderson
Stephen Williams
Gareth Wood
Sasha Millwood
Graham Ross
Jeremy Thurlow
James Brady
Kate Honey
Aleksandr Brusentsev
Kim Ashton
Misha Mullov-Abbado
Freya Waley-Cohen
Josephine Stephenson
Ed Scolding
Giles Swayne
Lloyd Coleman
Jonathan Woolgar
William Cole