James Joslin

James Joslin (b.1987) is a composer and sound artist based in London. He studied music under Simon Emmerson at De Montfort University where his focus was on the merger of acoustic and electronic sound-worlds in ‘mixed music’. In 2012 he received funding from the Daphne Oram Trust to attend Dartington International Summer School and was commended by the Toby Moores Creative Thinking Awards for his innovative approach to sculpture in his sound installation Clockwork Études 1-8. His compositions are regularly performed across four continents with notable performances at Klavier-Festival Ruhr, Singapore International Festival of Art and Foro Internacional de Música Nueva in Mexico, by musicians including Phyllis Chen, Daria Iossifova and Kathleen Supové. Having frequently worked with performers such as Margaret Leng Tan, a leading exponent of John Cage’s music, James’ compositions are often experimental in nature. For example, in 2014’s Deus ex Machina electric currents were sent down the strings of a piano to create synthesised notes sympathetic to the vibrating strings. These explorations of an instrument’s physical characteristics are typical of James’ work. As a former member and contributor of John Richards’ Dirty Electronics Ensemble, James has performed a large number of concerts in the UK with several notable collaborators of varying styles including Chris Carter, Keith Rowe and Anna Meredith. James currently works for the London Sinfonietta, a world renowned contemporary classical chamber orchestra.


Sylvia Lim
Laura Moody
Philip Venables
Ayanna Witter-Johnson
Raymond Yiu
Eleanor Alberga
Jacob Fitzgerald
Anna Disley-Simpson
Ruari Paterson-Achenbach
Tom Coult
Lisa Illean
Matthew Grouse
Errollyn Wallen
Oliver Leith
Benjamin Graves
Robin Haigh
Kevin Leomo
Joseph Davies
Элина Вагина
Svetlana Lavrova
Elena Igotti
Mira Calix
Alex Mills
Darren Bloom
Dominic Wills
Alexia Sloane
Anna Appleby
Jia Chai
Andrew Thomas
Emily Hall
Joel Rust
Timothy Salter
Eloise Gynn
Deborah Pritchard
Andy Ingamells
William Marsey
Elis Czerniak
Soosan Lolavar
Kate Whitley
Stevie Wishart
Ewan Campbell
Jethro Cooke
Edwin Hillier
James Joslin
Timothy Cape
Edward Henderson
Stephen Williams
Gareth Wood
Sasha Millwood
Graham Ross
Jeremy Thurlow
James Brady
Kate Honey
Aleksandr Brusentsev
Kim Ashton
Misha Mullov-Abbado
Freya Waley-Cohen
Josephine Stephenson
Ed Scolding
Giles Swayne
Lloyd Coleman
Jonathan Woolgar
William Cole