Matthew Grouse

Matthew Grouse (b.1996) is a composer from the UK, currently living in Aarhus (DK), who regularly combines music for instruments and voices with electronic sound, text, video and performative media. His work is often concerned with human frailties and reframing the seemingly mundane aspects of everyday life. In 2018, Matthew was awarded the Dorico Award for Small/Medium Scale Work at the Scottish Awards for New Music.

Recent activities include participation in Yaron Deutsch’s Electric Guitar Etude Project and the Chamber Sessions Project at the 2018 Darmstädter Ferienkurse. In 2018, Matthew was Composer-in-Residence with Nevis Ensemble, who commissioned a new orchestral piece for their inaugural tour of Scotland. In the same year his first electroacoustic EP Palettes was released on the New York based label, Not Art Records.

His music has been performed or workshopped by artists including: Royal Northern Sinfonia; Hebrides Ensemble; Red Note Ensemble; Nevis Ensemble; The Assembly Project; Ligeti Quartet; DeCoda Ensemble; Gildas Quartet; Rolf Hind and Andrew Zolinsky (piano duo); trumpeter Tom Poulson (Stockholm Chamber Brass); bassoonist Ben Hudson (Psappha Ensemble); and clarinettist Fernando Domínguez.

He has had work showcased at festivals including: Darmstadt (DE); Matera Intermedia (IT); St Magnus International Festival (UK); The Cumnock Tryst (UK); Occupy the Pianos (UK); Visiones Sonoras (MX); EviMus (DE); Sound-Image (UK), and at venues such as Newcastle’s Sage Gateshead; Edinburgh’s Usher Hall; London’s St John’s, Smith Square; and Mexico City’s Ex Teresa Arte Actual.

As well as ‘Daily Rituals’ for The Hermes Experiment, projects / commissions for 2019/20 include pieces for Hebrides Ensemble @ The Edinburgh International Book Festival; solo pieces incorporating electronics for trumpeter Tom Poulson and guitarist Sasha Salvoni; and a large-scale audiovisual collaboration with Andy Sowerby, presented by Cryptic.


Sylvia Lim
Laura Moody
Philip Venables
Ayanna Witter-Johnson
Raymond Yiu
Eleanor Alberga
Jacob Fitzgerald
Anna Disley-Simpson
Ruari Paterson-Achenbach
Tom Coult
Lisa Illean
Matthew Grouse
Errollyn Wallen
Oliver Leith
Benjamin Graves
Robin Haigh
Kevin Leomo
Joseph Davies
Элина Вагина
Svetlana Lavrova
Elena Igotti
Mira Calix
Alex Mills
Darren Bloom
Dominic Wills
Alexia Sloane
Anna Appleby
Jia Chai
Andrew Thomas
Emily Hall
Joel Rust
Timothy Salter
Eloise Gynn
Deborah Pritchard
Andy Ingamells
William Marsey
Elis Czerniak
Soosan Lolavar
Kate Whitley
Stevie Wishart
Ewan Campbell
Jethro Cooke
Edwin Hillier
James Joslin
Timothy Cape
Edward Henderson
Stephen Williams
Gareth Wood
Sasha Millwood
Graham Ross
Jeremy Thurlow
James Brady
Kate Honey
Aleksandr Brusentsev
Kim Ashton
Misha Mullov-Abbado
Freya Waley-Cohen
Josephine Stephenson
Ed Scolding
Giles Swayne
Lloyd Coleman
Jonathan Woolgar
William Cole